

Scholarships & Awards, AY 2019-2020

20

DONALD GRAHAM HISTORY SCHOLARSHIP

- Established in 1988 in honor of Donald Graham, who taught at UW-Whitewater in the History Department
- Awarded to full-time history majors and minors or broad field social studies majors with a history emphasis
- Considerations include class standing and merit
- Ten awardees this year







Mikayla Jones



Elizabeth Farrey



Katelin McGuigan



Nicole Petersen



Garret Nyhus



Morgan Przybyla



Maryah Strieter



Jennifer Young



Morgan Zdroik



JACK FILIPIAK MEMORIAL HISTORY SCHOLARSHIP

- Established to honor the memory of former faculty member Jack Filipiak
 '57, who taught Native American history and American Studies
- Awarded to a junior- or senior-level history major pursuing a B.A. or B.S.
- Has taken nine+ credits in American history
- Demonstrates academic merit
- This year's awardee: Katelyn Bailey

MICHAEL KENNEDY MEMORIAL HISTORY SCHOLARSHIP

- Established in memory of former history professor Michael Kennedy
- Awarded to full-time history majors and minors or broad field social studies majors with a history emphasis
- Based on class standing and merit
- This year's awardee: Jennifer Young





PAUL SCHMUNK MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

- Established in memory of former history professor Paul Schmunk
- Available to a full-time history major or minor student, with nine or more credits in American history
- Demonstrates academic merit
- This year's awardee: Nicole Petersen

JOHN T. LARIMER SCHOLARSHIP

- Initiated by UW-Whitewater Phi Alpha Theta students in 2012. In memory of alumnus and fellow honor society member John Larimer '08

 tragically killed in a random act of violence in Aurora, Colorado
- Awarded to a history major who has been inducted into the Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society
- An active participant in the campus or local community.
- This year's awardee: Olivia Viets

